Photo of Josephine Teo from TNP

The European Union (EU) yesterday (Jun 30) announced that they will reopen borders to 14 countries, dropping Singapore from the list. The 27-member EU approved travel without testing for Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

The news came after Japan dropped Singapore from its travel bubble proposal last week.

This is despite fake news from the Singapore government claiming that the outbreak is under control and “stable”. Singapore is still reporting hundreds of new cases each day, with unlinked infections on the rise.

In an update by Manpower Minister Josephine Teo (Jalan Besar GRC), Singapore has not completed testing for all foreign workers. Minister Lawerence Wong (Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC) gave a blank promise saying “70% to 80%” of the 323,000 foreign workers will be tested by the end of July.

Health Minister Gan Kim Yong (Chua Chu Kang GRC) has also taken a dangerous path by allowing positive patients to discharge after 21 days of quarantine. The PAP minister promised the patients will not be infectious.

Unfortunately, the PAP minister did not promise those who test positive are healthy either. There has been 2 cases of positive patients who died from heart attack after discharged. A total of 12 positive patients died, but were excluded from official reporting as the government claimed the coronavirus was not the cause of their deaths.