Photo of Sylvia Lim, Low Thia Khiang and Pritam Singh from Today

Elected by party cadres today (Apr 8), MP Pritam Singh has become the next Workers Party secretary general. WP MP Sylvia Lim was also re-elected as the chairman. Both seats were given a landslide and party was fully unanimous in their selection. Former WP chief Low Thia Khiang will remain a party member and said that he may continue to contest in the coming 2020 General Election.

Prior to the election, Pritam Singh was strongly supported by WP NCMPs like Dennis Tan, Daniel Goh and Leon Perera.

The smooth transition contrasts with the PAP, with Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong still undecided who to become his successor.

Should the WP win enough seats to become the next Singapore government, Singapore would see it’s first non-Chinese Prime Minister since Independence.