Photo of Lee Hsien Loong from Facebook

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong today (Feb 10) appointed 9 members to the Constitutional Commission that will revise the upcoming President Election’s qualifying criteria, the new President’s powers and find ways to empower the Council of Presidential Advisers by weakening the President’s powers.

The Constitutional Commission members appointed by the dictator Lee Hsien Loong is as follow:

  • Chief Justice Sundaresh Menon (Chairman)
  • Justice Tay Yong Kwang, Judge, Supreme Court
  • Mr Eddie Teo, Chairman, Public Service Commission
  • Mr Abdullah Tarmugi, Member, Presidential Council for Minority Rights
  • Professor Chan Heng Chee, Chairman, Lee Kuan Yew Centre for Innovative Cities, Singapore University of Technology and Design
  • Mr Chua Thian Poh, Chairman and CEO, Ho Bee Land
  • Mr Philip Ng, CEO, Far East Organization
  • Mr Peter Seah, Chairman, DBS Bank
  • Mr Wong Ngit Liong, Chairman and CEO, Venture Corporation

It is understood that Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong is worried that the next Presidential Election will have too many qualifying candidates and his government-backed presidential candidate may not win. In 2011, the PAP-backed candidate Tony Tan won by only 35.2%, or 0.35% over his runner-up, Dr Tan Cheng Bock.

Dr Tan Cheng Bock is expected to run for the Presidential Election again in 2017, which depending on the new laws created by the Constitutional Commission, may render him disqualified.