The Land Transport Authority announced today (Oct 19) that they will be upgrading the waiting platforms of 17 MRT stations by only 15%, despite having the population planned for a 6.9 million population.

Currently, MRT stations are overcrowded during peak hours and posed dangers to commuters at escalators as the platform ran out of standing spaces. Molest cases from overcrowding have also been on the rise in Singapore.

The 17 MRT stations are all in the North-South and East-West lines and are meant to create more standing space. Construction work will only commence in mid-2016 and be expected to complete by 2018. Below is the list of the 17 stations:

1. Ang Mo Kio
2. Bishan
3. Boon Lay
4. Buona Vista
5. Choa Chu Kang
6. City Hall
7. Clementi
8. Eunos
9. Jurong East
10. Khatib
11. Lakeside
12. Raffles Place
13. Pasir Ris
14. Pioneer
15. Tampines
16. Tanjong Pagar
17. Yishun