The ruling party PAP government was brought back to government today (Sep 12) sweeping 83 out 89 seats with a higher vote shift. The election result came as a surprise to Opposition candidates who felt that the ground was actually more bitter than the previous election.

Hotly-contested constituencies went to the PAP with huge margin winning by as much 66.62% in Holland-Bukit Timah GRC where the Singapore Democratic Party was expected to have a closer margin. Opposition ward, Punggol-East SMC, ended up in PAP’s hands with a win of 51.76%. Macpherson SMC went back to incumbent Tin Pei Ling at 65.58%, while Potong Pasir SMC went to the PAP candidate Sitoh Yih Pin with a greater margin at 66.41%.

Tanjong Pagar GRC which was never contested before won 77.71% in the absence of former Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew.

Only Hougang SMC and Aljunied GRC (50.95%) are retained by the Workers’ Party while all other Opposition parties are voted out.

National policies of the ruling party PAP will get the green light for the next 5 years.

You may view the rest of the result here:

GE2015 Result:
Sengkang West SMC: PAP win (62.11%), WP lost (37.89%)
Lam Pin Min

Yuhua SMC: PAP win (73.54), SDP lost (26.46%)
Grace Fu

Pioneer SMC: PAP win (76.34%), NSP lost (23.66%)
Cedric Foo

Punggol East SMC: PAP win (51.76%), WP lost (48.24%)
Charles Chong

Fengshan SMC: PAP win (57.52%), WP lost (42.48%)
Cheryl Chan

Chua Chu Kang GRC: PAP win (76.89%), PPP lost (23.11%)
Gan Kim Yong, Low Yen Ling, Yee Chia Hsing, Zaqy Mohamad

Holland-Bukit Timah GRC: PAP win (66.62%), SDP lost (33.38%)
Vivian Balakrishnan, Sim Ann, Liang Eng Hwa, Christopher De Souza

Hongkah-North SMC: PAP win (74.76%), SPP lost(25.24%)
Amy Khor

Bukit Panjang SMC: PAP win (68.38%), SDP lost (31.62%)
Teo Ho Pin

Potong Pasir SMC: PAP win (66.41%), SPP lost (33.59%)
Sitoh Yih Pin

Ang Mo Kio GRC: PAP win (78.63%), RP lost (21.37%)
Lee Hsien Loong, Ang Hin Kee, Koh Poh Koon, Intan, David Darryl, Gan Thiam Poh

Jalan Besar GRC: PAP win (67.73%), WP lost (32.27%)
Yacoob Ibrahim, Heng Chee How, Lily Neo, Denise Phua

Tanjong Pagar GRC: PAP win (77.71%), SFP lost (22.29%)
Chan Chun Sing, Chia Shi Lu, Indranee, Melvin Yong, Joan Pereira

Tampines GRC: PAP win (72.06%), NSP lost (27.94%)
Baey Yam Keng, Cheng Li Hui, Desmond Choo, Heng Swee Keat, Masagos

Hougang SMC: WP win (57.69%), PAP lost (42.31%)
Png Eng Huat

Mountbatten SMC: PAP win (71.84%), SPP lost (28.16%)
Lim Biow Chuan

Radin Mas SMC: PAP win (77.25%), RP lost (12.71%), Independent lost (10.04%)
Sam Tan

Marine Parade GRC: PAP win (64.07%), WP lost (35.93%)
Goh Chok Tong, Tan Chuan Jin, Seah Kian Peng, Edwin Tong, Fatimah

Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC: PAP win (72.89%), SDA lost (27.11%)
Janil Puthucheary, Teo Ser Luck, Zainal, Sun Xueling, Teo Chee Hean, Ng Chee Meng

Bukit Batok SMC: PAP win (72.99%), SDP lost (26.4%), Independent lost (0.60%)
David Ong

Macpherson SMC: PAP win (65.58%), WP lost (33.60%), NSP lost (0.82%)
Tin Pei Ling

Nee Soon GRC: PAP win (66.83%), WP lost (33.17%)
K Shanmugam, Lee Bee Wah, Muhammad Faishal, Kwek Hian Chuan

West Coast GRC: PAP win (78.57%), RP lost (21.43%)
Foo Mee Har, Lim Hng Kiang, Patrick Tay, S Isawaran

Jurong GRC: PAP win (79.28%), SFP lost (20.72%)
Tharman, Tan Wu Meng, Rehayu, Desmond Lee, Ang Wei Neng

Sembawang GRC: PAP win (72.28%), NSP lost (27.72%)
Amrin Amin, Khaw Boon Wan, Lim Wee Kiak, Ong Ye Kung, Vikram Nair

Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC: PAP win (73.59%), SPP lost (26.41%)
Ng Eng Hen, Chee Hong Tat, Chong Kee Hiong, Saktiandi, Josephine Teo

Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC: PAP win (68.73%), SDP lost (31.27%)
Alex Yam, Lawrence Wong, Ong Teng Koon, Halimah Yacob

East Coast GRC: PAP win (70.73), WP lost (39.27%)
Lim Swee Say, Jessica Tan, Mohd Maliki, Lee Yi Shyan

Aljunied GRC: WP win (), PAP lost ()
Low Thia Kiang, Sylvia Lim, Pritam Singh, Mohd Faisal, Chen Show Mao