In a media interview during a walkabout at Nee Soon GRC today (August 16), Workers’ Party Sylvia Lim confirmed that the incumbent team will remain to serve in Aljunied GRC and contest in the coming election.

Photo of Yee Jenn Jong, Sylvia Lim and Low Thia Kiang from channelnewsasia
Photo of Yee Jenn Jong, Sylvia Lim and Low Thia Kiang from channelnewsasia

Responding to media enquiries regarding Deputy Prime Minister’s angry tirade against her instagram photo, Sylvia Lim said:

“The Deputy Prime Minister should develop a sense of humour. People are interested in national issues, not just town council matters.”

The Workers’ Party chief, MP Low Thia Kiang, appears not bothered by DPM Teo’s insult saying the former was “shedding crocodile tears” when he said he was disappointed with the Transport Minister’s sudden resignation:

“We will let Singaporeans decide.”

Unlike other GRCs, Aljunied GRC do not have an anchor minister from the PAP government to contest.

Workers’ Party incumbent MP for Punggol East, Lee Lilian, also confirmed that she will continue to serve Punggol East SMC and contest in the coming general election. Opposition stronghold Hougang SMC, will also continue to see its incumbent WP MP Png Eng Huat contesting in the GE.

Also announced today, the PAP lineup for West Coast GRC is confirmed to be Lim Hng Kiag, Foo Mee Har, S Iswaran and new face Patrick Tay. Their opponent will be Reform Party. Incumbent PAP MP for Pioneer SMC Cedric Foo also confirmed he is going for the next term in the same ward, which will be contested by National Solidarity Party. Newly-carved out GRC, Jalan Besar, will see four heavyweight MPs who have served more than 3 terms: Lily Neo, Information and Communications Minister Yacob Ibrahim, Denise Phua and Minister of State Heng Chee How. Jalan Besar GRC will face the Workers’ Party in the coming election.