12 Downtown Line (DTL) stations will be opened in December 2015 according to Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew. The DTL project part two consists of 12 stations linking Bukit Panjang to Bugis, below are the names of the 12 stations:

1) Cashew
2) Hillview
3) Beauty World
4) King Albert Park
5) Sixth Avenue
6) Tan Kah Kee
7) Botanic Garden
8) Stevens
9) Newton – interchange with North-South Line
10) Little India – interchange with North-East Line
11) Rochor
12) Bugis – interchange with East-West Line

Photo from LTA
Photo from LTA

There is however a design flaw in between the 4 stations – Rochor, Jalan Besar, Bencoolen and Bugis.

Photo by Google Map and edited by Alex Tan
Photo by Google Map and edited by Alex Tan

The other three stations are located in a 200m radius of the Rochor station. If a person need to get from Rochor Station to Jalan Besar station, he will need to make a round trip through Promenade and Chinatown costing him more than 20 minute to get to his destination. Similarly, a person who want to get from Bencoolen station to Bugis Station, will have to make the same 20 minute round trip.

The correct design is supposed to make either of the 4 locations an interchange like City Hall or Dhoby Ghaut to serve the DTL loop.